Thursday, March 31, 2016

Wednesday, March 30, 2016

Schaprode Rügen/Germany

Schaprode is a small village at Rügen's west coast. The ferries to the beautiful island Hiddensee start here, which makes the place rather lively and there is a quite some community of hobby fishermen, who meet here. Some decent restaurants makes it easy to survive ;-) But the best of this place is the surrounding nature.


Tuesday, March 29, 2016

Easter Sunday

At Easter Sunday we had a wonderful extended walk at the Northern beach of the German island Rügen. Although spring just started it was mild temperature. We enjoyed a lot being out in the nature with this wonderful fresh air, the taste of sea salt and the width of the open ocean landscape.

Wednesday, March 23, 2016

Monday, March 21, 2016

Sunday, March 20, 2016

Saturday, March 19, 2016

Friday, March 18, 2016

Helleborus foetidus

Stinking hellebore: Well the name is not very attractive....we smelled nothing but were surprised finding these plants all over the wood when we were on a hiking tour at Mühlbachtal-Bopard/Germany...

It is growing wildly in mountain regions of  Southern and Central Europe as well as Asia Minor. It blossoms in late winter.
All parts are poisonous containing glycosides.


Scientific Collection of Defense Engineering Specimens Koblenz/Germany

Some pictures we took at the Scientific Collection of Defense Engineering Specimens Koblenz/Germany....well, I am not that fond of all this weapon stuff.....but Friedrich enjoyed the collection a lot ;-) And I have to admit, that it is impressive how much knowledge and engineering is behind all this technology....


Thursday, March 17, 2016

This afternoon in the middle of Hamburg.....

We were absolutely surprised when this hawk landed with it's prey (poor little pigeon :-/) in our garden. I would not have expected such a bird of prey right in the middle of a major city.....

(Apologies for the quality of the picture, but the hawk stayed only for one very quick shot and was gone...)


Wednesday, March 16, 2016

Sunday, March 13, 2016

Saturday, March 12, 2016

Friday, March 11, 2016

Thursday, March 10, 2016